Centre signs off on transfers of six High Court judges

Aditya AK November 8 2018

Pursuant to Collegium recommendations passed late last month, the Central government has notified the transfers of six High Court judges.

Out of the six, four judges have been repatriated to their parent high courts, after serving stints elsewhere.

Among these are Justice Nirmaljit Kaur, who has been transferred back to the Punjab & Haryana High Court after serving as a judge of the Rajasthan High Court since 2012. Justice Pavankumar B Bajanthri, who had been transferred to the Punjab and Haryana High Court in March 2015, has been transferred to his parent High Court of Karnataka.

Justice Satrughana Pujahari, who was appointed a judge of the Madras High Court in November 2017, has been recommended to be repatriated to the Orissa High Court. Justice Sujit Narayan Prasad, who has been serving in the Orissa High Court since March 2015, has been recommended for transfer to his parent High Court of Jharkhand.

In addition to the above, Justice Raghvendra S Chauhan of the Karnataka High Court has been transferred to the High Court of Judicature for Telangana and Andhra Pradesh at Hyderabad. Justice Chauhan was originally a judge of the Rajasthan High Court.

Justice Rajiv Sharma has been transferred from the Uttarakhand High Court to the Punjab & Haryana High Court, pursuant to the recommendation of the Collegium made last week.

Read the notifications:


Nirmaljit Kaur
PB Bajanthiri
S Pujahari

SN Prasad
RS Chauhan

Rajiv Sharma