SC Secretary General Ravindra Maithani, two others appointed as Uttarakhand HC Judges [Read Notification]

Meera Emmanuel November 30 2018
ravindra maithani

The Central government has cleared the appointment of three new judges to the Uttarakhand High Court, including that of Supreme Court Secretary General, Ravindra Maithani.

The other two judicial officers elevated to the High Court are Narayan Singh Dhanik and Rarnesh Chandra Khulbe.

With their appointment, the working strength of the High Court rises to 8 judges, just one short of the sanctioned strength of 9 judges.

The Supreme Court Collegium had passed a resolution recommending their appointment as High Court judges earlier this month, based on the recommendation of the then Chief Justice of Uttarakhand High Court, in view of three vacancies which existed on May 29, 2018.

After scrutinizing the material on record, observations made by Department of Justice, and interaction with the three of them, the Collegium considered it fit to elevate all three of them.

Accordingly, the government has now notified their appointment as judges of the Uttarakhand High Court as follows,

"In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (I) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint S/Shri (1) Narayan Singh Dhanik, (2) Rarnesh Chandra Khulbe, and (3) Ravindra Maithani, to be Judges of the Uttarakhand High Court, in that order of seniority, with effect from the date they assume charge of their respective offices."

Read the Notification:


Appointment of three Uttarakhand HC judges - Nov 2018