Six Additional Judges of Madras High Court made permanent [Read Notification]

Bar & Bench August 23 2019

The Central Government has notified the appointment of six additional judges of the Madras High Court as permanent judges of the High Court.

A notification issued yesterday intimates that the Government has cleared the appointment of Justices S Ramathilagam, R Tharani, P Rajamanickam, T Krishnavalli, R Pongiappan, and R Hemalatha as permanent judges of the Madras High Court. It states,

"In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint (i) Smt. Justice S. Ramathilagam, (ii) Smt. Justice R. Tharani, (iii) Shri Justice P. Rajamanickam, (iv) Smt. Justice T. Krishnavalli, (v) Shri Justice R. Pongiappan, and (vi) Smt. Justice R. Hemalatha, Additional Judges of the Madras High Court, to be Judges of the Madras High Court with effect from the date they assume charge of  ther respective offices."

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended that these judges be made permanent judges of the High Court in July this year, following the High Court Collegium's recommendation in June.

The six judges were appointed to the Madras High Court as additional judges in November 2017. Whereas Justice Hemalatha's term as additional judge was slated to end in September this year, all other five judges were appointed as additional judges for a two-year term ending in November this year.

All six judges were recommended for elevation to the Bench in October 2017.

[Read the Notification]

Madras HC - Appointment of six permanent judges - Aug 22 2019

Bar & Bench is available on WhatsApp. For real-time updates on stories, Click here to subscribe to our WhatsApp.