Six additional judges of Allahabad HC, two from Jharkhand HC made permanent

Aditya AK September 13 2018
additional judges

The Central government has notified the appointment of six additional judges of the Allahabad High Court and two from the Jharkhand High Court as permanent judges of their respective courts.

Justices Mahboob Ali, Rang Nath Pandey, Aniruddha Singh, Dinesh Kumar Singh-I, Ifaqat Ali Khan, and Umesh Chandra Tripathi have been appointed as permanent judges of the Allahabad High Court. With these appointments, the High Court will have 70 permanent judges and 20 additional judges. A total of 70 posts remain vacant.

At the Jharkhand High Court, Justices Shiva Nand Pathak and Rajesh Shankar have been made permanent judges. The High Court will now have 13 permanent judges and 5 additional judges, with 7 vacancies.

Last month, the Supreme Court Collegium had recommended additional judges from the High Courts of Allahabad, Patna, Jharkhand, Uttarakhand and Rajasthan to be made permanent.

All 6 recommendations of the Collegium with respect to the Allahabad High Court and 2 with respect to the Jharkhand High Court have been given the Centre's green signal. The other recommendations are yet to be confirmed.

Read the notifications:

Allahabad HC:

Allahabad HC Sept13

Jharkhand HC:

Jharkhand HC Sept 13