SC Collegium recommends seven Gauhati High Court Additional Judges to be made permanent

Shruti Mahajan October 26 2018
mohammad sanaullah - Gauhati High Court

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended seven Additional Judges of the Gauhati High Court to be made Permanent Judges of the Court.

The names were recommended by the Collegium of the Gauhati High Court on October 11 this year unanimously. The names recommended to be made permanent judges are,

  1. Justice Lanusungkum Jamir
  2. Justice Manash Ranjan Pathak
  3. Justice Achintya Malla Bujor Barua
  4. Justice Kalyan Rai Surana
  5. Justice Prasanta Kumar Deka
  6. Justice Nelson Sailo
  7. Justice Ajit Borthakur

The Collegium considered the material placed on record by the Department of Justice and also took note of the fact that the term of the above-mentioned Additional Judges will expire on November 14 or 21 this year.

Additionally, the Supreme Court Collegium has also specified that the complaints received as regards some of the names recommended did not find prima facie carry any substance.

The resolution of the Collegium states that the above-mentioned seven Additional Judges are found to be fit to be appointed as permanent Judges of the Gauhati High Court. As regards Justice Lanusungkum Jamir, it is clarified in the resolution that he will continue to function in the Manipur High Court where he was posted on transfer recently.

Read the Resolution:


Collegium Resolution - Gauhati - Oct 24-watermark