NLUD's Debaranjan Goswami emerges winner in ArbExcel all-India article writing competition, 2019

Bar & Bench July 28 2019
Debaranjan Goswami 1st Prize

Debaranjan Goswami from National Law University, Delhi has emerged the winner in the 2019 edition of the ArbExcel writing competition.

Goswami,who wrote on the topic, "Preserving Arbitrator Independence and Impartiality under the Indian Arbitration Act: Shift from an Apparent void to a Paradigm of Uncertainty", is awarded a prize money of Rs 1 lakh for emerging the top contender.

Neeti Amin from the Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar has been awarded the second prize, with a prize money of Rs 75, 000 for her article titled, "Interpretation of Section 26 of the Arbitration and Conciliation (Amendment) Act, 2015: A Never Ending Enigma?"

The third prize, with a prize money of Rs 50, 000, has been awarded to Aishwarya Agrawal from the Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur. She wrote on the topic, "Applicability of Part I of the Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996: From Party-Centric Principle To Seat-Centric Principle and Beyond."

Niti Amin (L) and Aishwarya Agrawal (R)

Three more finalists have also been awarded a prize amount of Rs 10, 000 each. Kuruvila M Jacob from the National Law Institute University, Bhopal and Anubhuti Maithani and Avani Agarwal, both from the NALSAR University of Law emerged finalists for their articles.

Ayush Chaturvedi from Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Meenal Garg from the University Institute of Legal Studies, PU and Rajarshi Singh from the National University of Study and Research in Law, Ranchi feature in list of honourable mentions for this year's competition.

ArbExcel is an all India article writing competition on arbitration conducted annually by the law firm, Kachwaha & Partners. This year marked the seventh edition of the competition. This year's ArbExcel competition winners were picked from a total of 27 contenders from 14 law schools.