Nine Additional Judges of Punjab and Haryana HC made Permanent [Read Notification]

Meera Emmanuel November 30 2018
punjab & haryana

The Central Government has notified the appointment of nine additional judges of the Punjab and Haryana High Court as permanent judges of the High Court.

The judges whose appointment has been made permanent, as per the notification issued today, are:

  1. Harminder Singh Madaan
  2. Raj Shekhar Attri
  3. Gurvinder Singh Gill
  4. Arvind Singh Sangwan
  5. Rajbir Sehrawat
  6. Anil Kshetarpal
  7. Avneesh Jhingan
  8. Mahabir Singh Sindhu
  9. Sudhir Mittal

The Supreme Court Collegium had recently passed a resolution recommending the same. The resolution was passed following the unanimous recommendation of the Punjab and Haryana High Court Collegium in August this year.

Justice Madaan was appointed as an additional judge in December 2016, Justices Attri and Gill in June 2017, while the others were appointed in July 2017.

Earlier today, the Government had also published another notification concerning the Punjab and Haryana High Court i.e. the appointment of a new Additional JudgeHarnaresh Singh Gill, for a two year term.

Read the Notification concerning the appointment of nine permanent judges:

Appointment of 9 Permanent Judges - P&H HC - Nov 2018