Nine additional judges from Allahabad, Kerala HCs to be made permanent

Aditya AK March 13 2018

The Central government has appointed nine additional judges from the High Courts of Allahabad and Kerala as permanent judges.

From the Allahabad High Court, Justices Ashok Kumar, Vivek Chaudhary, Saumitra Dayal Singh and Akhilesh Chandra Sharma have been made permanent judges. The terms of the first three judges were set to expire in February, while AC Sharma J’s term was due to expire this month.

Last month, the Collegium had recommended that nine more additional judges of the High Court be made permanent, however, the Centre is yet to take a decision on the same. The term of one of the additional judges recommended to be made permanent – Justice Shailendra Kumar Agrawal – is set to expire next month.

Five additional judges of the Kerala High Court – Justices Sathish Ninan, Devan Ramachandran, P Somarajan, V Shircy, and AM Babu – have been appointed as permanent judges, pursuant to last month’s recommendation by the Supreme Court Collegium.

Last week, the Centre had appointed forty-one additional judges from across five high courts as permanent judges.

Read the notifications

Allahabad HC:

Allahabad HC 12-3-watermark


Kerala HC:

Kerala HC 12-3-watermark