New Chief Justices appointed for four High Courts after Supreme Court elevations

Aditya AK October 3 2019
Chief Justices

The Central government has signed off on the appointment of new Chief Justices for four High Courts. These appointments have been made in light of the recent elevations to the Supreme Court.

Last week, Justices V Ramasubramanian, Krishna Murari, S Ravindra Bhat and Hrishikesh Roy took oath as judges of the Supreme Court. Prior to their elevation, they were Chief Justices of the High Courts of Himachal Pradesh, Punjab & Haryana, Rajasthan, and Kerala respectively.

Acting Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court, Justice L Narayana Swamy, has been appointed as Chief Justice of the Himachal Pradesh High Court, as the successor of Justice V Ramasubramanian.

Justice Ravi Shanker Jha of the Madhya Pradesh High Court has appointed as Chief Justice of the Punjab & Haryana High Court, to take over from Justice Krishna Murari.

To fill the vacancy created by Justice S Ravindra Bhat's elevation to the Supreme Court, Justice Indrajit Mahanty has been appointed as Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court. Justice Mahanty has been serving as a judge of the Bombay High Court.

Justice S Mani Kumar of the Madras High Court has been appointed as the Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court, to replace Justice Hrishikesh Roy.

The above four appointments were recommended by the Supreme Collegium in resolutions passed on August 28.

Read the resolutions:

Justice Narayanaswamy transfer
Justice Indrajit Mahanty transfer
Justice Ravi Shanker Jha transfer
Justice Mani Kumar transfer