Indira Jaising awarded Senior Advocate of the Year at IDEX Legal Awards 2019 - See the list of Winners

Bar & Bench April 18 2019
Idex Legal - IDEX Legal Awards

The 2019 edition of the IDEX Legal Awards was held in Mumbai on Friday, April 12. Into its eighth year, the awards are a recognition of excellence, transparency, and meritocracy in the Indian legal fraternity.

IDEX also presented Jury Awards under various categories. Justice DY Chandrachud of the Supreme Court was adjudged as 'Icon of the Year', while Indira Jaising was given the 'Senior Advocate of the Year' award. Former Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court AP Shah - last year's winner of the Icon of the Year award - was present at the function.

Indira Jaising and Justice AP Shah - Justice AP Shah

Justice AP Shah looks on while Indira Jaising speaks at the Awards ceremony

This year’s awards received more than 200 submissions from more than 120 law firms and corporates. The winners in various categories were decided by a panel of 13 leading Indian and international jury members, chaired by Mysore Prasanna, former Group General Counsel of the Aditya Birla Group. The other members of the jury panel were:

  • Anubhav Kapoor, Microland
  • Anupam Sharan, Sutherland
  • Deepa Baburaj, Guardian India
  • Jonathan Middleburgh, Consultant
  • Lakshika Joshi, Aricent
  • Murali Neelakantan, Amicus
  • Navneet Hrishikesan, CISCO
  • Pramod Rao, ICICI Bank
  • Rajeev Uberoi, ex - IDFC
  • Valerie Bowles, Consultant
  • Vijaya Sampath, Independent Director
  • Vivek Mittal, Danaher Corporation
Jury Members

Jury Members (LtoR: Rajeev Uberoi, Pramod Rao, Mysore Prasanna, Vivek Mittal, Valerie Bowles and Lashika Joshi)

Commenting on the awards, Managing Director of IDEX Vikas Vij said,

“It’s never been an easy path for us to follow but we’ve been committed since day one to provide the Indian legal fraternity an awards process that they can proudly call their own knowing that the process has been built on transparency, fairness and a commitment to meritocracy meaning that regardless of stature, age, influence or reputation every lawyer has a chance to lift one of the ILAs each year.

What it takes is the ability to articulate a great story and back that up with substantial evidence, hallmarks of great lawyering and our Jury are impartial and independent focused on recognising the best-narrated stories, and those that demonstrate the ability to successfully tell that story have every chance of winning. The domestic award that can unabashedly sit on any mantlepiece.”

The following are the winners in Law Firm categories:

Category Winner
Law Firm of the Year - Large Khaitan & Co.
Law Firm of the Year - Mid-Size Ikigai Law
Law Firm of the Year - Boutique C&C Advisors
Managing Partner of the Year Pallavi Shroff and Akshay Chudasama, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas
Young Achiever under 35 Swarnima, Trilegal
M&A Law Firm of the Year Khaitan & Co.
Dispute Resolution Law Firm of the Year Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas
Employment Law Firm of the Year Khaitan & Co.
IBC Law Firm of the Year Khaitan & Co.
Intellectual Property Law Firm of the Year Anand and Anand
Regional Law Firm of the Year IC Universal Legal
Best Legal Advisor to Startups Ikigai Legal
India Desk of the Year Squire Patton Boggs

Khaitan & Co won maximum awards in Law Firm category

Akshay Chudasama receiving the award for Managing Partner of the Year from Justice AP Shah

The winners in the In House categories were:

Category Winner
General Counsel of the Year Sameer Chugh, Bharti Airtel Limited
Legal Department of the Year - Medium and Large Ujjivan Small Finance Bank Ltd & Mahindra & Mahindra Limited (Joint Winners)
Legal Department of the Year - Small Reliance Nippon Life Asset Management Limited
Young Achiever In House Lawyer of the Year Hoshedar Havewala, Mahindra & Mahindra Limited
Best Banking & Finance Team of the Year Reliance Nippon Life Asset Management Limited
Best Use of Innovation & Technology Dimension Data India Private Limited


Sameer Chugh, Bharti Airtel collects the award from Senior Advocate Indira Jaising

Reliance Nippon Life Team

In addition to these, IDEX also handed out Jury Awards in the following categories:

Category Winner
Icon of the Year Justice DY Chandrachud
Senior Advocate of the Year Indira Jaising
Legal Academic of the Year Umakanth Varottil
Will Power (Woman in Legal Leadership) Menaka Guruswamy
Legal Journalism of the Year Bar & Bench

Bar & Bench is available on WhatsApp. For real-time updates on stories, Click here to subscribe to our WhatsApp.