Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran, KM Joseph sworn in as Supreme Court judges

Murali Krishnan August 7 2018

Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran and KM Joseph were sworn in as Supreme Court judges today.

The oath of office was administered by CJI Dipak Misra sometime back.

The order in which the oath was administered was:

  1. Indira Banerjee J.
  2. Vineet Saran J.
  3. KM Joseph J.

A controversy had gripped the Supreme Court regarding the seniority of Justice Joseph after the President conveyed the order in which the judges were to be sworn in.

Justice Joseph's name was third in the list which led to protest among certain judges in the Collegium since Joseph's name was first recommended by the Collegium on January 10 while the other two judges were recommended only on July 16.