SC Collegium recommends three additional judges of Madras High Court to be made permanent

Aditya AK October 11 2018
Madras High Court, MLA disqualification

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended that three additional judges of the Madras High Court be made permanent. The three senior most judges of the Apex Court has paved the way for Justices RMT Teeka Raman, N Satish Kumar, and N Seshasayee to be made permanent judges of the High Court.

The three judges were elevated as additional judges in November 2016; their two-year terms expire on November 15 this year.

The Collegium of the Madras High Court had unanimously recommended the above-named judges for appointment as permanent judges of High Court back in February this year.

The resolution states that the Chief Justice of India had received complaints against two of the three judges in question. However, the Supreme Court Collegium was of the prima facie view that the allegations lacked substance. Therefore, it signed off on the move to make them permanent judges.

Should the Centre agree to the recommendation, the Madras High Court will have 43 permanent judges and 19 additional judges. 13 vacancies exist at the High Court.

Read the Resolution:


Madras HC permanent judges OCt 11