Collegium recommends five Calcutta High Court Additional Judges to be made Permanent

Shruti Mahajan July 31 2019
video conferencing

The Supreme Court Collegium, in its resolution dated July 31 has recommended the appointment of five Additional Judges of the Calcutta High Court as Permanent Judges.

The Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court had proposed names of six Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges. The Collegium has stated that after assessing the merit, scrutinizing all the relevant material available as well as taking note of the views of the Governor and the Chief Minister of the State of West Bengal, it recommends the appointment of following Justices,

  1. Rajasekhar Mantha
  2. Sabyasachi Bhattacharyya
  3. Mrs.Moushumi Bhattacharya
  4. Shekhar Bobby Saraf
  5. Rajarshi Bharadwaj

The three-member Collegium comprising Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi with Justices SA Bobde and NV Ramana has also resolved to appoint, for a fresh term of six months, one of the Additional Judges who was also under consideration for the post of Permanent Judge.

As regards the proposal of Justice Protik Prakash Banerjee, additional information is sought from the Chief Justice of the Calcutta High Court. The Collegium has, therefore, said:

"Mr. Justice Protik Prakash Banerjee be appointed as Additional Judge for a fresh term of six months w.e.f. 21st  September 2019 with a view to watch his performance as such."

Read the resolution:

Calcutta HC Resolution