Collegium Resolutions: Chief Justices to be appointed to three High Courts

Varun Chirumamilla April 27 2018

The Supreme Court Collegium has resolved to appoint Chief Justices to the High Courts of Punjab and Haryana, Manipur, and Meghalaya. The recommendations have been made keeping in mind proportionate representation of parent High Courts as well as shortages in judge-strength.

The Collegium has recommended that Justice Krishna Murari, takeover as Chief Justice of the Punjab and Haryana High Court, following the retirement of Chief Justice SJ Vazifdar on May 4, 2018.

The Collegium also considered Justice Dilip Gupta, who is the senior to Justice Murari. However, given that Justice Gupta is due to retire on June 6, the Collegium observed that the recommendation of his name would not serve any purpose.

Justice Murari has been serving as a judge of the Allahabad High Court since 2004. His name was recommended also keeping in mind that currently there is only one Chief Justice who is originally from the Allahabad High Court.

The Collegium has recommended the name of Justice Ramalinga Sudhakar, for appointment as Chief Justice of the Manipur High Court. It was noted that, following the retirement of Chief Justice Abhilasha Kumari, the working judge-strength of the High Court stands reduced to two against the sanctioned strength of five.

Justice Sudhakar's name was recommended considering that  for quite some time there has been no Chief Justice from the Madras High Court which is one of the largest High Courts.

Justice Sudhakar  has served as the Acting Chief Justice of the Jammu and Kashmir High Court. Prior to his appointment in the Jammu and Kashmir High Court, he  served as a judge of the Madras High Court.

The senior most pusine judge of the Jammu and Kashmir High Court, Justice Yaqoob Mir, has been recommended for appointment as the Chief Justice of the Meghalaya High Court.

The Collegium noted that there has not been a Chief Justice originally from the Jammu and Kashmir High Court for quite some time. The recommendation was also made considering that the Meghalaya High Court has been functioning with just one judge, as against a sanctioned strength of four, since the retirement of Justice Tarun Agarwala, on March, 3, 2018.

Read the resolutions



Manipur_19042018-watermark (1)