Collegium recommends 6 Additional Judges of Madras High Court as Permanent Judges

Meera Emmanuel March 12 2019
highway - Madras High court, online sale of medicines, Section 122

The Supreme Court Collegium has passed a resolution recommending that six additional judges of the Madras High Court be made permanent judges.

The resolution passed yesterday recommends that the following judges be made permanent judges of the Madras High Court i.e.

  1. V Bhavani Subbaroyan
  2. AD Jagadish Chandira
  3. GR Swaminathan
  4. Abdul Quddhose
  5. M Dhandapani
  6. PD Audikesavalu

All six judges were appointed as additional judges of the High Court in June 2017.

The Madras High Court Collegium had unanimously recommended that they be made permanent by a resolution passed in December last year.

While ascertaining their suitability, the Supreme Court Collegium appears to have found no merit to certain complaints made against two of the above-named judges.

Accordingly, on an evaluation of the material on record and consultation with those conversant with the affairs of the High Court, the Supreme Court Collegium has resolved,

"... the Collegium resolves to recommend that (1) Mrs. Justice V. Bhavani Subbaroyan, Mr. Justices (2) A.D. Jagadish Chandira, (3) G.R. Swaminathan, (4) Abdul Quddhose, (5) M. Dhandapani, and (6) P.D. Audikesavalu, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Madras High Court."

Read the Resolution:

3. 2019 March 11- 6 Pmt JJ Madras

Bar & Bench is available on WhatsApp. For real-time updates on stories, Click here to subscribe to our WhatsApp.