Chief Justices appointed to Four High Courts [Read Notifications]

Meera Emmanuel November 10 2018

The Central Government has signed off on the appointment of four new Chief Justices for the High Courts of Allahabad, Patna, Madhya Pradesh and Tripura.

Acting Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court, Govind Mathur has been appointed as its permanent Chief Justice. Justice Mathur was transferred to the Allahabad High Court in November last year from the Rajasthan High Court.

Prior to his elevation, his areas of practice included Constitutional, service and labour matters. He has also served as the standing counsel for various entities including the University of Rajasthan, Indian Oil Corporation, Water and Power Consultancy Services, New Delhi, Central Bank of India, and Punjab National Bank.

Justice AP Sahi has been appointed as the Chief Justice of the Patna High Court. Justice Sahi enrolled as an advocate in 1985, following which he practiced on the Constitutional and Civil side at the Allahabad High Court. He was elevated as an additional judge of the Allahabad High Court in September 2004. In August 2005, he took oath as a permanent judge of the High Court. While making the recommendation for his appointment as Patna's Chief Justice, the Collegium had noted that at present there is only one Chief Justice originally from the Allahabad High Court, which is the largest in the country in terms of personnel.

(Left to Right) Justices Govind Mathur, Amreshwar Pratap Sahi, SK Seth and Sanjay Karol

Justice SK Seth has been appointed Chief Justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court. Justice Seth has been serving as the Acting Chief Justice of the High Court since the appointment of erstwhile Chief Justice Hemant Gupta as a judge of the Supreme Court.

Following his enrolment in 1981, Justice Seth practiced in the areas of Civil and Constitutional law. He has served as an Additional Advocate General for Madhya Pradesh as well. In 2003, he was appointed as an additional judge of the Madhya Pradesh High Court. In January 2004, his appointment was made permanent.

Justice Sanjay Karol, a judge of the Himachal Pradesh High Court, has been appointed the Chief Justice of the Tripura High Court. Justice Karol enrolled as a lawyer in 1986. His areas of practice included Constitutional law, Taxation, Corporate law, Criminal law and Civil law.

He has served as the Advocate General of Himachal Pradesh between 1998 and 2003. He was designated Senior Advocate in 1999. In March 2007, he was elevated as a judge of the Himachal Pradesh High Court. In April this year, he was appointed Acting Chief Justice of the High Court. He served in this role until October 5, when Chief Justice Surya Kant Rao took charge.

All four appointments were made pursuant to Collegium recommendations passed on October 29.

Read the Notifications:

Appointment of CJ for Hcs - Nov 9, 2018