25 additional judges across 5 High Courts recommended to be made permanent

Aditya AK December 6 2017
additional judges

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended that twenty-five additional judges across the High Courts of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Karnataka be made permanent.

Eighteen additional judges from the Madhya Pradesh High Court have been recommended to become permanent judges. They are Justices Atul Shreedharan, Sushrut Arvind Dharmadhikari, Vivek Rusia, Anand Pathak, Ved Prakash Sharma, Jagdish Prasad Gupta, Anurag Kumar Shrivastava, Housla Prasad Singh, Ashok Kumar Joshi, Vivek Agarwal, Nandita Dubey, Rajeev Kumar Dubey, Anjuli Palo, Virender Singh, SK Awasthi, Vijay Kumar Shukla, GS Ahluwalia, and Subodh Abhyankar.

Additional judges Justices Ananda Sen and Anant Bijay Singh were recommended to become permanent judges of the Jharkhand High Court. At the Chhattisgarh High Court, Justices Sanjay Agrawal and RC Singh Samant were recommended to be made permanent. Justice Anil Kumar Shukla was also recommended by the High Court, but he has since attained superannuation.

Justice G Narendar of the Karnataka High Court has also been recommended for being made a permanent judge. Quite interestingly, the High Court had only recommended that Narendar J’s term as an additional judge be extended for one year. However, the SC Collegium took it upon itself to recommend that he be made permanent. The resolution states:

“While making this observation, we have duly taken note of the fact that the High Court Collegium while recommending extension of his term as Additional Judge has not placed on record any material for not recommending him for appointment as Permanent Judge though a permanent post is available.”

Update: The Himachal Pradesh High Court’s Justices Sandeep Sharma and Chander Bhushan have also been recommended for elevation as permanent judges.

Read the resolutions:

Madhya Pradesh HC:

MP Collegium Dec 4-watermark

Jharkhand HC:

Jharkhand Collegium Dec4-watermark

Chhattisgarh HC:

Chhattisgarh Collegium Dec 4-watermark

Himachal Pradesh HC:

HP Collegium Dec4

Karnataka HC:

Narendar Collegium Dec 4-watermark
Facebook Comments