Delhi High Court gets eight new judges; Three appointees from the subordinate judiciary


Sources in the Delhi High Court have confirmed that the Bench shall see new appointments in the course of the next few days. The appointees include three judges from the lower judiciary, including District Judge Sunita Gupta, District Judge VP Vaish and District Judge Deepa Sharma who is also the Principal Judge of the Delhi Family Court. The High Court currently has seven women judges.
With respect to the appointments from the Bar, five names have reportedly been approved for elevation. A report in the Hindustan Times had stated that:
The recommendations of the Supreme Court collegium on Jayant Nath, Najmi Waziri, Sanjeev Sachdeva, Vibhu Bakhru and V Kameshwar Rao as judges have been accepted by the government …. The collegium consulted at least five Supreme Court judges who had earlier served in the Delhi High Court before recommending these names. All the judges unanimously favoured the appointment of Nath and Sachdeva.

At the time of publication of this piece, several sources had indicated that the swearing-in ceremony of the new judges would be held tomorrow. Deepak Khosla, the litigant who had sought inter alia an upward revision of salaries received by High Court judges, has also filed a petition in connection to the elevations. In this writ, Khosla is seeking a writ of prohibition against the Chief Justice from administering the oath to one of the senior advocates recommended for elevation.
Update at 20:35: The swearing in ceremony shall take place tomorrow at 10:00 am. As per the roster of Delhi High Court judges, each of the new Additional Judges shall be sitting in a Division Bench. The new roster also features an all-women Division Bench of Justices Gita Mittal and Deepa Sharma. 

Related Articles